My Friends, I’m Gone…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Ok, not really. I haven’t left for the land of sun and Sandinistas just yet, but it’s getting down to the wire. This whole week I’ve been packing my bag, writing last-minute Fulbright essays, and saying goodbye to anybody and everybody who’s still stuck in St. Louis, and quite frankly, I’m ready to get the fuck out of here.

But before I leave, I wanted to post this mix for the trip. Because, you know, mixes are, like, totally the soundtracks of our lives. ZACH BRAFF SAID SO!

There’s a lot of great stuff on this mix and it all kind fits in the Leaving on a Jet Plane theme (although John Denver’s song is curiously absent). I’ve been diggin’ on the Shout Out Louds’ track for quite some time now. The lead singer of The SOLs, Adam Olenius, is pretty much Robert Smith from The Cure — only without the eyshadow, melodrama, and crazy cat-lady hair. I’ve also included an overlooked track from Bob Dylan’s Planet Waves and a song from Tom Petty’s criminally underrated Highway Companion. And Okkervil River’s “John Allen Smith Sails” is probably my favorite track of the year.

1. “Tonight I Have to Leave It” – The Shout Out Louds
2. “Scenic World” Long Gisland version – Beirut
3. “When I’m Gone” – Mary Wells
4. “Revolution Rock” – The Clash
5. “Pensando Enti” – Devendra Banhart
6. “Black Postcards” – Luna
7. “Down South” – Tom Petty
8. “Going, Going, Gone” – Bob Dylan
9. “Transport Is Arranged” – Pavement
10. “Soft Revolution” – Stars
11. “Flight #303” – Feist
12. “7/4 (Shoreline)” – Broken Social Scene
13. “Almost Ready” – Dinosaur Jr.
14. “Children of the Revolution” – T. Rex
15. “Long Gone Daddy” – Pat Cupp
16. “Don’t Say Bye Bye” – Gino Parks
17. “John Allyn Smith Sails” – Okkervil River

Click here to download.

I’m leave early Wednesday morning. More later…

3 Responses to “My Friends, I’m Gone…”

  1. dogles Says:

    looking forward to your blog man, im going to plug it on mine today.

    peace,
    david
    http://koreanunderground.wordpress,com

    sorry 😉

  2. rabowen Says:

    Hello sir, I very much look forward to this and hope you don’t slack off on it.

    I miss your awkwardly told anecdotes.

  3. Jes Says:

    I still think Okkervil River consists of a bunch of anorexic whining emo kids with acoustic guitars, but other than that, nice mix. 🙂

    I’ve changed my mind, being kidnapped by a Columbian drug lord might be an educational experience.

Leave a Reply

